Created in 1854 the Anglican Diocese of Mauritius consists of 17 parishes and 5 mission chapels in Mauritius and Rodrigues. The Diocese of Mauritius together with the 6 dioceses in Madagascar and one in the Seychelles constitutes the Anglican Church of the Province of the Indian Ocean.


On this website you can find an array of information about the wide range of activities of the Diocese, its Parishes and Anglican institutions such as Mothers’ Union, Anglicare, St Hugh’s Home and Diocesan training Centre.
Any information about St Andrew’s School and Rodrigues College is best obtained by contacting them direct on their websites (http://www.standrewschool.info/) and Rodrigues College 831 1524 – Fax: 831-2569 Reach/Tel & Fax: Office 831 0370.


The administration headquarters is at Diocesan Church House, 37 St Paul Road, Vacoas Mauritius. If you are having difficulty finding information, you can contact the DCH or by email (info@anglican.mu) or by telephone (+230 686 5158) or fax (+230 697 1096).


The Anglican Church has been present in Mauritius since the take-over by the British in 1810. The civil Church was established when the first Civil Chaplain, Revd Henry Shepherd was appointed on 6 May 1812.  This was followed by the consecration of the first Bishop of Mauritius in 1854 and the incorporation of the Anglican Diocese of Mauritius in 1973 by Parliament. Today there are 17 parishes and some five mission churches in Mauritius and Rodrigues.


The mission of the Anglican Diocese is to serve Christ faithfully in the circumstances of our daily lives and improve the welfare of the whole nation. We invite you to join us on this journey.


We hold the Christian faith as received from apostolic times and the scriptures of Old and New Testament as our ultimate rule and standard of life. We are committed to obeying the commands of Christ, teaching his doctrine, administering the sacraments of Baptism and Holy Communion and maintaining an ordered ministry of bishops, priests and deacons.


The Diocese is organised into 17 parishes distributed all over the island.  In addition to the parishes there are many different organisations in areas such as education, health, mission, social welfare and communications which are part of the Anglican Church. The Diocese runs the first secondary coeducational school since 1943 and a second secondary school in Rodrigues jointly administered with the Roman Catholic Church.


The Diocese of Mauritius belongs to the Anglican Church of the Province of the Indian Ocean which forms part of the Anglican Communion, an international community of Anglicans in over 160 countries. The Diocese is subject to the rules and regulations of its Constitution, to the Diocesan Synod which is itself under the jurisdiction of the Archbishop of the Province of the Indian Ocean.